L.A. Grounded, and We Go Cheap. Real Cheap.

 

Frugal. The word has such greater connotations than even I took stake in previously. Previously, as in a week ago. Which is great that I have noticed such a greater fidelity and meaning in the word; for I have no current job, and I don’t see myself having one anytime soon. I’ve been working these so-called menial jobs for years, putting my passions to the wayside to scrape by, consequently letting skills falter and remain more or less grounded. There have been successes despite it, many happy sessions of late night writing and early morning intrigues. And now? Yes, I’m in the THE place to be for screenwriting, which is the lot I’ve drawn for myself over the last ten years. It’s a form I, have not just fallen into, but have fallen enamored with. It’s got me ’round the throat so tightly that I can’t force myself to go back to these other jobs I’ve had before. Taking another “load your cart while I smile” kind of job would be akin to drowning, a slow and agonizing death in which one could live through only if necessary. 6-23-133
And that’s the tale of my saving’s being depleted. It sounds like a cold drip in the dark.
But wine’s a big part of my life now. It’s on odd aspect of one’s life to admit, as if it was worthy of admittance at all like it was an embarrassment akin to how I used to really, really dig Pogs. You stacked them and slammed them, c’mon. 6-23-132
It will forever be a weekly ritual to tackle half a bottle with someone special in my life every Sunday with a bombastic bread I’ve baked and a luscious cheese I bought from some local purveyor. It’s transcendent and all the more necessary now that I’m out here in the wild, my professional life literally on the line.
Alder Yarrow recently talked of rituals by citing a Harvard study on ritual’s influence with how we experience foods. Read it here. But in short, if we undertake some ritualistic motion, a notion, with whatever it is we eat, we will respond to the food with greater comfort and enjoyment. I have a theory it’s really just bringing us a tad closer to what is always there in the first place––hell, we are in this crazy world of ours where our minds are constantly to the distance, out our windows and half at the office or deep in our work despite our distance from them. Rituals are important. We need more of them.
Whether writing films for a living works out for me in the long run remains to be seen. But I’ll have an unadulterated passion for discovering stand out wines within my budget for the rest of my life. Every experience counts, but wine certainly feels higher than the rest. It’s a damn fine journey.

2008 Lindemans Cabernet Sauvignon Bin 45 – $8
Worthy.
Light on nose and color. A thin kind of taste, but the wine has the gumption to keep a pleasing tone throughout the sip. Quite nice. Clean. There’s only a lack of that special taste that recalls better nights than the one your spending with this wine. To it’s advantage, there’s very little of the cheap, residual sugar notes.

2008 Chakana Malbec – $19
Worthy.
Light on nose and color. A thin kind of taste, but the wine has the gumption to keep a pleasing tone throughout the sip. Quite nice. Clean. There’s only a lack of that special taste that recalls better nights than the one your spending with this wine. To it’s advantage, there’s very little of the cheap, residual sugar notes.

2009 Domaine La Garrigue Côtes du Rhône Cuvée Romaine – $14
Worthy.
What was a stellar wine a year ago is now a bit messy, showing its age by crawling about the floor with its flabby, frail arms just looking for someone to love. That was supposed to be funny, but it actually is kind of sad; which is to say the same of this wine. Still a barrel of laughs to drink, but the potential is now a diluted remnant. VERY much a dark horse, a powerhouse of dark berry and chocolate. Effervescence is still very much present, just as many other bottles exhibited. I am among the class that believes the bubbles to be a loving mistake, but loving none the less. It works, even in such an petrified state. There is a lot of sediment as well, so take heed of that; there are those who hate chewing their wine; I happen to find it interesting.

2009 Pepperwood Grove Merlot – $6
Skip.
The bottle fancies itself to be a dry, full-bodied affair; what it actually is is the exact opposite. There is a syrupy sweetness, while not awful, limits the enjoyment factor for me. The wine is also not a “full” one, instead exhibiting a thin coating throughout the sip. For the price, it’s not an awful wine, but you could do better.

2011 Bogle Vineyards Cabernet Sauvignon – $7
Worthy.
Zesty, bitter and dark while having an overall “meh” kind of dry afterthought residual sugar forwardness. Mellow like merlot. Although it will not fight you after a couple of glasses. Worth the price.

Leave a Reply

